Heartbroken

I could cry today, I’ve stopped myself about 4 times already within 5 minutes.

I just had this amazing opportunity come through to potentially be an Airport Emergency service officer. It’s the closest thing to a firefighter I could get in New Zealand, but because its me and my shit luck this week I don’t think I can do it.

Yesterday me and Gemma went to a fitness class called Jumpfit which is basically getting sweaty on trampoline with a bunch of skinny girls

Side note- this isn’t good when you’ve had a bad ankle for 4 months

It was actually really fun, but the trampoline had already taken its first victim within 5 minutes and not long after I had manage to hurt my ankle and knee. I still carried on for the full 45 minutes like a idiot. So now I’m sat at work with a sore foot and unable to straighten my knee…  then I get a email to attend the first physical phase for this job…. let me just show you what this includes!

PRE-ENTRY PHYSICAL

20 METRE BEEP TEST

EVOLUTION 1- HOSE REEL EXTENSION

The candidate will extend a hose reel a distance of 40 metres. PROCEED TO EVOLUTION 2.

EVOLUTION 2- SIMULATED LADDER EXTENSION

The candidate will haul aloft a weight of 16kg to a height of 5m a total of four times. Before returning the weight to the ground on the fourth repetition, candidates will hold the weight stationary with one hand for a period of 8 seconds before returning it to the ground in a hand over hand motion. PROCEED TO EVOLUTION 3.

EVOLUTION 3- STAIR CLIMB WITH BANDOLIER

The candidate will uplift a length of flaked 70mm hose (weighing 16kg) and place it on either one or across both shoulders. They will then complete 25 repetitions on the 2 step box. One repetition is complete when both feet are back on the ground. The entire foot must contact each step tread. PROCEED TO EVOLUTION 4.

EVOLUTIONS 4- FOAM DRUM CARRY

The candidate will uplift 2 x 25kg foam drums and carry them a distance of 50 metres. Candidates may stop to rest but must not take their hands off the handles of the drums. Candidates will receive one warning for this only. PROCEED TO EVOLUTION 5.

EVOLUTIONS 5- HAUL ALOFT

The candidate will haul aloft in a hand over hand motion a weight of 16kg to a height of 5m a total of 4 times. PROCEED TO EVOLUTION 6.

EVOLUTION 6- HOSE CARRY

At a brisk walking pace, the candidate will carry a coiled length of 70mm hose (weighing 16kg), a distance of 25 metres. They will be then required to push the hose through a tunnel approx. 10 metres in length before returning to the start a further 25 metres. PROCEED TO EVOLUTION 7.

EVOLUTION 7- SLEDGEMAMMER

The candidate will hit a rubber tyre a total of 30 times. The hammer must be taken overhead on each repetition. PROCEED TO EVOLUTION 8.

EVOLUTION 8- SLED DRAG

The candidate will drag a weighted sled weighing 80kg a distance of 30m. Candidates may stop to rest but must not take their hands off the handle of the sled. Candidates will receive one warning for this only PROCEED TO EVOLUTION 9.

The clock will stop once the candidate has completed evolution 8. The puzzle as listed below is timed separately.

EVOLUTION 9- PUZZLE

The candidate will attempt to solve the puzzle provided. Maximum time allowed 90 seconds.

TEST ENDS.

A BIG FUCK YOU FOR GIVING ME 4 DAYS NOTICE! A even bigger fuck you to my physio for not helping my ankle out what so ever.

I’m generally gutted and my heart hurts 😦 and now I just spilt water down myself

On the plus side, Gemma bought me a slice of Caramel mud cake last night & today I get paid…

Silver lining

B.x

Leave a Reply

